Countdown – Northampton Town

To continue our countdown to the new season, which starts in 8 days, RoversChat will be looking at the teams that Rovers will be facing in the 2017/18 season. The first of two teams we will look at today is Northampton Town…

Northampton Town - Sixfields Stadium.png

Name: Northampton Town

Manager: Justin Edinburgh

Ground name: Sixfields Stadium

Capacity: 7,724

Nickname: The Cobblers

Star player: Alex Revell

Players in: Ash Taylor, Daniel Powell, Yaser Kasim, Aaron Pierre, Dean Bowditch, Sam Foley, Billy Waters, Matt Crooks, Leon Lobjoit, George Smith, Regan Poole, Leon Barnett

Players out: Jak McCourt, Adam Smith, Paul Anderson, Harry Beautyman, Zander Diamond, Gabriel Zakuani, Rod McDonald

Northampton Town were formed in 1897, when the town’s schoolteachers and local solicitor A.J. Darnell. The Cobblers hold the record for the shortest time taken to be promoted from the bottom tier to the top tier and relegated back down to the bottom again, in the space of nine years.

They made it to the Second Division in 1962-63 by winning the division, and two seasons later they finished runners-up two seasons in the Second Division. The Cobblers have suffered financial difficulties recently, with them facing a winding up petition 2 years ago, but they gained promotion the season after.

In June 2017, China based company 5USport purchased a purchased a major stake in Northampton Town Ventures Limited, the company who owned the majority shareholding in Northampton Town, with Kelvin Thomas remaining as Chairman.

Last year, they finished 16th and will hoping to get further up the table this year. They’ve added firepower with Bowditch and Powell, and will be hoping to at least make the top half.

For more articles like this, follow RoversChat on Twitter – @rovers_chat. We will post all new articles there so make sure you follow us! Make sure you follow us on all social media, details can be found here.