Countdown – AFC Wimbledon

To begin our countdown to the new season, which starts in 13 days, RoversChat will be looking at the teams that Rovers will be facing in the 2017/18 season. The first of two teams we will look at today is AFC Wimbledon.

AFC Wimbledon - Plough Lane

Name: AFC Wimbledon

Manager: Neal Ardley

Ground name: Kingsmeadow

Capacity: 4,850 (2,265 seated)

Nickname: The Dons, The Wombles

Star player:  Lyle Taylor

Player ins: Kwesi Appiah, Liam Trotter, Cody McDonald, Adedeji Oshilaja, George Long, Nadjim Abdou.

Players out: Jake Reevers, Tom Elliott, James Shea, Tyrone Barnett, Dannie Bulman, Chris Robertson, George Oakley, Sean Kelly, David Fitzpatrick, Dominic Poleon, Danny Gallagher.

AFC Wimbledon were founded when Wimbledon FC relocated to Milton Keynes, which now are known as MK Dons. A group of Wimbledon fans met in the Fox and Grapes pub on Wimbledon Common and – on the 30th May 2002 – they decided to create a new club dubbed ‘AFC Wimbledon’. The club has a meteoric rise throughout the leagues, starting in the Combined Counties Leagues in 2002 to now being in the Football League One. They will be looking to build on last season’s 15th place finish and hopefully start pushing for another promotion. The club are hoping to move into a new ground by 2019 near Plough Lane, which was Wimbledon F.C.’s ground until 1991. The new stadium will be built on the site of Wimbledon Greyhound Stadium.

For more articles like this, follow us on Twitter – @rovers_chat – to receive the new articles first!